A MOON FOR THE MISBEGOTTEN by Eugene O’Neill

This is the literary work that I am closest to. It is more like me than anything else I’ve ever read. I once told a friend that, if I was ever called on to write about it in a class, I didn’t think I would be able to. It’s still really hard for me to approach it. However, I felt like briefly mentioning the aspect of A Moon for the Misbegotten that most fascinates me on an intellectual level. What’s so astonishing for such a sad play that is often referred to as a tragedy is that it is structured as a comedy. It has the scheming cupid character, the intentionally artificial marriage plot and the sharp but affectionate back and forth between two star-crossed lovers. Unfortunately, the comedic structure is helpless against the tragic details. But if the comedy is defeated, the tragedy ultimately fails too. The characters will not overcome their tragedies but they find some love and peace. After a tragic life, full of writing mostly tragic plays, O’Neill created his greatest play, in my opinion, with A Moon for the Misbegotten.  It is a tragedy that drives a stake through the heart of tragedy and mysteriously denies it its seemingly inevitable victory. 

Leave a Reply

